Meet Katie

Screenshot_20191210_193353_com.instagram

Mission Statement

To support the physical and emotional health of a birthing person, their families, and children by providing evidence-based information and physical and emotional support during pregnancy, childbirth, and early parenthood.

To prioritize under-served communities and people in my area of Nova Scotia. Specifically, the BIPOC and LGBTQ++ communities, as well as young parents and parents with disabilities. 

 

To provide support regardless of the financial abilities of the person needing my support. No person should be denied the support of a doula based on remuneration. I will provide flexible payment arrangements for those that need them and continue to advocate for doula services to be included in our healthcare benefits. 

Hi! It's me, Katie, and I am so happy that you are here to learn a little more about who I am and how I can support you!

 

To begin, I believe in the continuous and compassionate support of all birthing people. I am a certifying Labour and Postpartum Doula, as well as a certifying Perinatal Educator with Doula Canada. 

 

My educational background includes a Bachelor's degree in Psychology from Mount Saint Vincent University as well as a Certificate in Chestfeeding Support and Knowledge from Doula Canada. My passions have taken me to many rewarding places, such as a career in residential real estate, commercial real estate, managing a restaurant and bakery, and being a stay-at-home homeschool mom! 

But I have always been passionate about birth work even before I ever knew that I could do it as a full-time career. I have three beautiful children whose births were not all without complication and medical intervention. I did not always have the support that I should have and for this reason, I am motivated to support as many people as possible so that they understand that they have rights when it comes to their bodies and their births. 

The most exciting part of this work for me is not advocating on behalf of a birthing person, but teaching a person how to advocate for themselves. 

I am an LGBTQ++ and BIPOC ally and believe that every person deserves love and support through childbirth. A person's age, race, gender, or sexual orientation will never be an issue here. 

I am a mother. I am a sister. I am a wife to an incredibly supportive partner. I enjoy writing, music, crafting, photography, baking, and if you couldn't already tell... the sea ❤ 

10330380_10152379733302534_8638084427891